5 Trophies as Band is Crowned Champions of Ireland at NIBA 2012
October 13 2012

The 95th Championship of Ireland Bands’ Contest was held today, Saturday 13th October 2012 in the Market Place Theatre, Armagh. The contest this year was adjudicated by Mr Chris Wormald.

The set piece for the Second Section Brass was “The Once And Future King” by Andrew Baker. The hard work and preparation for this contest resulted in a well deserved first place. In addition to the Symington Cup for winning the contest and the William Herron Trophy awarded to Des Graham as the winning conductor, the band also won the Jean Savage Memorial Cup for the best cornet section and the John Beckett Memorial Cup for the best bass section. To top this all off the band also received the special adjudicator’s award of the City of Dublin International Festival Trophy for the best overall performance of the day. Click here to play a recording of the performance.

Our congratulations go to all the other winning bands today. A very special mention also goes to the Third Carrick Junior Band who also played today.

Full Results are as follows:

Grade 5/Unaffiliated Brass


1st place: Kilkeel Silver – Conductor: Mr H Whann 169 points
Lisnaskea Silver – Conductor: Richard Johnston 167 points
1st Larne Old Boys’ Silver – Conductor: W Clements 160 points

Grade 4 Brass

Test Piece: ENGLISH FOLK SONG SUITE (Vaughan Williams)

1st place: Warrenpoint Silver – Conductor: M McCabe 175 points
2nd place: Letterbreen Silver – Conductor: S Crooks 173 points
Dungannon Silver – Conductor: F Mitchell 172 points
Poyntzpass Silver – Conductor: D Watson 171 points
Banbridge Silver – Conductor: A E Cooke 168 points

Youth Brass


1st place: 1st Old Boys’ Silver Junior – Conductor: Mrs J Bingham
Third Carrickfergus Junior Band – Conductor: P Arthurs
Laureldale Brass Ensemble – Conductor: B McIlveen

Third Grade Brass

Test Piece: SAINT-SAENS VARIATIONS (Philip Sparke)

1st place: Comber Silver – Conductor: W Thompson 184 points
2nd place: CWA Brass – Conductor: R Clinton 182 points
Wellington Memorial Silver – Conductor: J Kitchen 181 points
St. Mark’s Silver – Conductor: J Parkes 180 points
Navan Silver – Conductor: Paul Byrne 178 points

Second Grade Brass

Test Piece: THE ONCE AND FUTURE KING (Andrew Baker)

1st place: Third Carrickfergus Band – Conductor: D Graham 190 points Click here to play
2nd place: Roughan Silver – Conductor: K Anderson 187 points
3rd place: Drogheda Brass – Conductor: M Maher 185 points
Lourdes Brass – Conductor: J McCafferty 184 points
Ballyduff Silver – Conductor: W Hill 183 points
Templemore Silver – Conductor: J W Burch 183 points

Best Bass section: Third Carrickfergus Band
Best Cornet section: Third Carrickfergus Band
Conductor’s Prize: D Graham

Championship Brass

Test Piece: FLOWERS OF THE FOREST (R R Bennett – Paul Hindmarsh Edition)

1st place: 1st Old Boys’ Silver – Conductor: Stephen Cairns 192 points
2nd place: Laganvale (Metal Technology) – Conductor: E Ruddock 190 points
Downshire Brass – Conductor: M Alcorn 189 points
Strabane Concert Brass – Conductor: Brian Connolly 188 points

Best Instrumentalist: Dessie Neill – Principal Cornet – Laganvale (Metal Technology)

Conductors Prize: Stephen Cairns

Best Performance of the Day: Third Carrickfergus Band (Second Section)