97th NIBA Championship of Ireland Contest Results
October 19 2014

The 97th Championship of Ireland Bands’ Contest was held today, Saturday 18th October 2014 in the Market Place Theatre, Armagh. The contest was adjudicated by Mr Stan Lippeatt.

This year the set piece for the Second Section Brass was “Renaissance” by Peter Graham. Despite the hard work and preparation for this contest the band were placed 5th by the adjudicator on the day. Click here to listen to a recording of the Third Carrickfergus Bands’ performance.

Our congratulations go to Drogheda Brass on retaining their title and to all the other winning bands today.

Full results below

Youth Brass Band


1st place 1st Old Boys’ Silver Junior Band – Conductor: J Bingham (Mrs) 180 points
Downshire Youth Band
Laureldale Brass Ensemble – Conductor: B McIlveen

Fifth Grade Brass

1st place: Dynamic Brass – Conductor: TBC 170 points

Fourth Grade Brass

1st place: Dungannon Silver – Conductor: TBC 172 points

Third Grade Brass

Test Piece: FOUR CITIES SYMPHONY (Rodney Newton)

1st place: Wellington Memorial Silver – Conductor: J Kitchen 176 points
2nd place: St Mark’s Silver – Conductor: J Parkes 175 points
Comber Silver – Conductor: W Thompson 173 points
Navan Silver – Conductor: P Byrne 172 points

Second Grade Brass

Test Piece: RENAISSANCE (Peter Graham)

1st place: Drogheda Brass – Conductor: M Maher 184 points
2nd place: Roughan Silver – Conductor: K Anderson 182 points
Lourdes Brass Band – Conductor: M Hannan 181 points
CWA Brass – Conductor: R Clinton 180 points
Third Carrickfergus Band – Conductor: D Graham 179 points
Ballyduff Silver – Conductor: W Hill 178 points

Best Bass section: Drogheda Brass
Best Cornet section: Drogheda Brass
Conductor’s Prize: M Maher

Championship Brass

Test Piece: SALOME (Gareth Wood)

1st place: Murley Silver – Conductor: W Hill
2nd place: Downshire Brass – Conductor: M Alcorn
1st Old Boys’ Silver – Conductor: S Cairns
Strabane Concert Brass – Conductor: P Christian

Best Instrumentalist: – Solo Cornet – Murley Silver
Conductors Prize: W Hill – Murley Silver
Best Performance of the Day: Murley Silver