Another Hatrick And Band of The Year Award at BBL Spring Festival – Full Results
April 12 2014

The 2014 annual BBL Spring Festival in association with The North West Musical Festival was held for the sixth time today, 12th April 2014 in the Alley Theatre in Strabane. The band continued it’s impressive contest run with a winning performance of Philip Sparke’s “Kaleidoscope.” This is the second hatrick of wins for the band this year, firstly 3 in a row at Fivemiletown and now the same in Strabane. The section’s soloist prize was also awarded to our principal cornet player Claire Hueston. It was further announced that the band had been awarded the title of “Band of The Year” and were duly presented with the coveted Haughton Cup.

Third Carrickfergus Band In Contest

Congratulations to all the band members who have worked hard and ensured that this run of wins was possible, to our Musical Director – Des Graham for his continual strive for the best performance and also to our great friend Mike Fowles for his assistance and belief in us.

Further congratulations to 1st old Boys Association Silver Band, CWA Brass, Omagh Academy Brass Band and 1st Old Boys Youth Band on their winning performances and to their respective conductors. The adjudicator for the day was Mr John Berryman. and the compere was Mr William Caughey.

Full results of the day and points are as under.

Championship Section (Rothman Trophy)

1st Place: 1st Old Boys Association Brass – Conductor: S Barnett (Time Machine – Thomas Doss) – 190 points
2nd Place: Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band – Conductor: E Ruddock (English Heritage – George Lloyd) – 189 points
Strabane Concert Brass – Conductor: P Christian (London Overture – Philip Sparke) – 188 points
Downshire Brass – Conductor: Prof. M Alcorn (Of Distant Memories – Edward Gregson) – 186 points

Best Soloist (Gault Memorial Cup): Dessie Neill – Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band
Best Percussion (Percussion Shield): 1st Old Boys Association Brass
Best Trombone Section (Denis Gillespie Memorial Trophy): Laganvale (Metal Technology Band)
Winning Conductor (Harry Brittain Memorial Cup): Stephen Barnett – 1st Old Boys Association Silver Band

Second Section Brass (Founders Cup)

1st Place: Third Carrickfergus Band – Conductor: D Graham (Kaleidoscope – Philip Sparke) – 185 points
Ballyduff Silver Band – Conductor: W Hill (Tam O’Shanter’s Ride – Denis Wright) – 184 points

Best Soloist (Ross Aiken Memorial Trophy): Claire Hueston – Third Carrickfergus Band
Winning Conductor (Burch Trophy): Des Graham – Third Carrickfergus Band

Third Section Brass (46th Old Boys Cup)

1st Place: CWA Brass – Conductor: R Clinton (The Once and Future King – Andrew Baker) – 179 points
2nd Place: Comber Silver Band – Conductor: W Thompson (Lydian Pictures – Simon Dobson) – 175 points
Wellington Silver Band – Conductor: J Kitchen (Saint-Seans Variations – Philip Sparke) – 173 points

Best Trombone Section (Clive McBride Memorial Trophy) – CWA Brass

School Bands

1st Place – Omagh Academy Brass Band – Conductor: S O’Hare (Little Suite for Brass – Malcolm Arnold) – 162 points
St Michael’s College Brass Band – Conductor: S O’Hare (Little Suite for Brass – Malcolm Arnold) – 160 points

Junior/Youth Bands

1st Place – 1st Old Boys Youth Band – Conductor: Mrs J Bingham – 168 points
Laureldale Ensemble – Conductor: B McIlveen – 165 points