Band Retain BBL Crown with Win at Strabane – Details and Results
April 27 2013

The annual BBL Spring Festival in association with The North West Musical Festival was held for the fifth time today, 27th April 2013 in the Alley Theatre in Strabane. The band produced what turned out to be a winning performance of Kenneth Downie’s “Purcell Variations.” The great run of results for the band has continued due to the hard work and effort from the players and musical director Des Graham. The section’s soloist prize was also awarded to our principal cornet player Ruth Dodridge. It was also announced that we were “Band of The Year” runners up, the winners this year being 1st Old Boys Silver Band.

We also must congratulate our Junior Band who came second in their section at the same contest today under the baton of Peter Arthurs.

Further congratulations to Strabane Concert Brass, CWA Brass, St Mary’s Silver Band, Omagh Academy Brass Band and 1st Old Boys Youth Band on their winning performances and to their respective conductors. The adjudicator for the day was Mr Andrew Duncan and the compere was Mr William Caughey.

Full results of the day and points are as under.

Championship Section (Rothman Trophy)

1st Place: Strabane Concert Brass – Conductor: P Cristian (Chivalry – Martin Ellerby) – 194 points
2nd Place: Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band – Conductor: T Carter (Journey into Freedom – Eric Ball) – 193 points
Downshire Brass – Conductor: Prof. M Alcorn (Tallis Variations – Philip Sparke) – 192 points
Murley Silver Band – Conductor: W Hill (Connotations – Edward Gregson) – 191 points
1st Old Boys Silver Band – Conductor: S Cairns (Partita – Philip Sparke) – 190 points

Best Soloist (Gault Memorial Cup): Dessie Neill – Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band
Best Percussion (Percussion Shield): Strabane Concert Brass
Best Trombone Section (Denis Gillespie Memorial Trophy): Strabane Concert Brass
Winning Conductor (Harry Brittain Memorial Cup): Peter Christian – Strabane Concert Brass

Second Section Brass (Founders Cup)

1st Place: Third Carrickfergus Band – Conductor: D Graham (Purcell Variations – Kenneth Downie) – 184 points
Roughan Silver Band – Conductor: K Anderson (The Once And Future King – Andrew Baker) – 182 points
Ballyduff Silver Band – Conductor: W Hill (Olympus – Philip Harper) – 181 points

Best Soloist (Ross Aiken Memorial Trophy): Ruth Dodridge – Third Carrickfergus Band
Winning Conductor (Burch Trophy): Des Graham – Third Carrickfergus Band

Third Section Brass (46th Old Boys Cup)

1st Place: CWA Brass – Conductor: S Cairns (Tryptych – Philip Sparke) – 172 points
2nd Place: Comber Silver Band – Conductor: W Thompson (Olympus – Philip Harper) – 171 points
Wellington Silver Band – Conductor: J Kitchen (Partita – Edward Gregson) – 170 points
St Mark’s Silver Band – Conductor: J Parkes (Saddleworth Festival Overture – Goff Richards) – 168 points

Fourth Section Brass

1st Place: St Mary’s Silver Band – Conductor: T Doherty (Little Suite for Brass – Malcolm Arnold) – 160 points

School Bands

1st Place – Omagh Academy Brass Band – Conductor: S O’Hare (Music for Greenwich – Edward Gregson) – 162 points
St Michael’s College Brass Band – Conductor: B Quick (Cowboys – Bob Quick) – 160 points

Junior/Youth Bands

1st Place – 1st Old Boys Youth Band – Conductor: Mrs J Bingham – 170 points
Third Carrickfergus Junior Band – Conductor: P Arthurs – 169 points
Laureldale Ensemble – Conductor: B McIlveen – 168 points