Band Win Annual BBL Spring Festival in Strabane
Mar 31 2012

The annual BBL Spring Festival in association with The North West Musical Festival was held for the fourth time today, 31st March 2012 in the Alley Theatre in Strabane. The band produced what turned out to be a winning performance of Edward Gregson’s “The Plantagenets.” This has been a great run of results for the band who now make it three wins in a row in consecutive contests. As usual the celebrations lasted until the wee small hours of the following morning Click here for some pics

We also must send our congratulations to the Third Carrickfergus Junior Band who came second in their section at the same contest today under the baton of Peter Arthurs.

Further congratulations to the 1st Old Boys, CWA Brass, Omagh Academy Brass Band and 1st Old Boys Youth Band on their winning performances and to their respective conductors. The adjudicator for the day was Les Neish and the compere was Mr William Caughey.

Full results of the day are noted below:

Championship Section (Rothman Trophy)

1st Place: 1st old Boys Silver Band – Conductor: S Cairns (Dances and Arias – Edward Gregson) – 97 points
2nd Place: Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band – Conductor: E Ruddock (Elgar Variations – Martin Ellerby) – 95 points
Downshire Brass – 94 points
Murley Silver Band – 93 points
Strabane Concert Brass – 92 points

Best Soloist (Gault Memorial Cup): John Murdock – Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band
Best Percussion (Percussion Shield): 1st Old Boys Silver Band
Best Trombone Section (Denis Gillespie Memorial Trophy): 1st Old Boys Silver Band
Winning Conductor (Harry Brittain Memorial Cup): Stephen Cairns – 1st Old Boys Silver Band

Second Section Brass (Founders Cup)

1st Place: Third Carrickfergus Band Conductor: D Graham (The Plantagenets … play Edward Gregson) – 89 points
Ballyduff Silver Band – 87 points

Best Soloist (Ross Aiken Memorial Trophy): Ruth Dodridge – Third Carrickfergus Band
Winning Conductor (Burch Trophy): Des Graham – Third Carrickfergus Band

Third Section Brass (46th Old Boys Cup)

1st Place: CWA Brass – Conductor: R Clinton (Music for a Festival – Philip Sparke) – 85 points
Wellington Silver Band – 80 points

School Bands

1st Place – Omagh Academy Brass Band – Conductor: S O’Hare (Adventures in Brass – Ray Farr) – 79 points
St Michael’s College Brass Band – 77 points

Junior/Youth Bands

1st Place – 1st Old Boys Youth Band – Conductor: Mrs J Bingham (Baggy Trousers – Alan Fernie, Home Again – Vincent Turner) – 79 points
Third Carrickfergus Junior Band – 77 points