Band Win BBL Spring Contest and Retain Band of the Year Title
April 26 2015

The 2015 annual BBL Spring Festival in association with The North West Musical Festival was held for the seventh time on Saturday 25th April 2015 in the Alley Theatre in Strabane. Continuing it’s impressive contest run the band achieved a 4th win in a row at this contest (matching the 4 in a row achieved by the band at the annual entertainment contest in Fivemiletown in March) with a winning performance of Goff Richard’s “Oceans.” The section’s soloist prize was also awarded to our principal cornet player today – Morris Cameron. It was further announced that the band had been awarded the overall title of “Band of The Year” for the second year running and had therefore retained the coveted Haughton Cup.

The adjudicator for the contest was Mr David Thornton

Celebrations with the Third Carrickfergus Band

The results which the band has achieved over the last few years only comes with hard work, dedication and a willingness to improve. A huge Thank You to all for the teamwork and efforts in striving for this continual improvement and, in particular, our conductor, Des Graham, for his tireless work and belief. A special mention too, to Sam Brodison for his help today for which we are very grateful.

We also send our congratulations to all the winning bands and soloists in their respective sections.

The full contest results were as under:

School Bands
1stSt Michael’s College Brass Band – Music for Greenwich, Edward Gregson – Conductor: Mr Simon O’Hare – 173 points
Omagh Academy Brass Band – Adventures in Brass, Ray Farr – Conductor: Mr Simon O’Hare – 172 points

Junior Section Bands
1st1st Old Boys Youth Band – Shalom (Suite of Israeli Folk Songs), Philip Sparke – Conductor: Mrs Jacklin Bingham – 173 points

4th Section – Take Five Trophy
No contest

3rd Section – 46th Old Boys Cup
1stSt Joseph’s Silver Band – Dimensions, Peter Graham – Conductor: Mr Noel Barr – 185 points
Comber Silver Band – The Graces of Love, Oliver Waespi – Conductor: Mr Wesley Thompson – 183 points
Wellington Memorial Silver Band – Scheherazade, Rimsky Korsakov – Conductor: Mr Jimmy Kitchen – 178 points

Best Trombone Section – Clive McBride Memorial Trophy: St Joseph’s Silver Band

2nd Section – Founders Cup
1stThird Carrickfergus Band – Oceans, Goff Richards – Conductor: Mr Des Graham – 188 points
2nd – CWA Brass – Purcell Variations, Kenneth Downie – Conductor: Mr Robin Clinton – 187 points
Roughan Silver Band – Variations on Maccabeus, Kevin Norbury – Conductor: Mr Keith Anderson – 186 points
Ballyduff Silver Band – Withdrawn

Best Soloist – Ross Aiken Memorial Trophy: Morris Cameron, cornet – Third Carrickfergus Band
Winning Conductor – Burch Trophy: Mr Des Graham – Third Carrickfergus Band

Championship Section – Rothman Trophy
1stDownshire Brass – Tallis Variations, Philip Sparke, Conductor: Prof. Michael Alcorn – 194 points
2nd – 1st Old Boys Association Silver Band – Rococo Variations, Edward Greyson – Conductor: Mr Stephen Cairns – 193 points
3rd – Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band – Festival Music, Eric Ball – Conductor: Mr Stephen Crooks – 192 points
Strabane Concert Brass – The Year of the Dragon, Philip Sparke – Conductor: Mr Peter Christian – 191 points
Murley Silver Band – Withdrawn

Best Soloist – Harry Gault Memorial Trophy: John Murdock, euphonium – Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band
Best Percussion – Percussion Shield: Downshire Brass
Best Trombone Section – Denis Gillespie Memorial Trophy: 1st Old Boys Association Silver Band
Winning Conductor – Harry Britain Memorial Cup: Prof Michael Alcorn – Downshire Brass


Band of the Year 2015

Overall Winner – Haughton Cup Third Carrickfergus Band (Retained)

Section Winners
Championship Section: Downshire Brass
Second Section: Third Carrickfergus Band
Third Section: St Mark’s Silver Band
Fourth Section: Dungannon Silver Band