BBL Festival of Brass Contest 2018 – Results
November 24 2018

The Brass Band League in association with The School of Creative Arts at Queen’s University Belfast held the 8th “Festival of Brass” entertainment contest in the Whitla Hall, Belfast on Saturday 24th November 2018.

The music adjudicator was Jim Davies
The entertainment adjudicator was Beverly Coomber
Our compere was David Hawthorne

The final contest of the year saw the band perform a varied and entertaining programme of music under the direction of conductor, Brian Connolly. The band achieved a credible fourth place. Congratulations go to Claire Hueston with her solo performance of With His First Breathe by Paul Lovatt-Cooper and also to David Hawthorne who wrote and compered the introductions to today’s performance. We also wish to thank our guest Wesley Thompson on 1st Baritone for doing a great job for us this afternoon. Our congratulations go to all the other winning bands, conductors and soloists.

The music played by the band was;

Prelude on Tallis – Peter Graham
With His First Breathe – Paul Lovatt-Cooper Soloist: Claire Hueston – Cornet
Army of the Nile – Kenneth J Alford
Lux Arumque – Eric Whitacre, arr. Sandy Smith
Defying Gravity – Stephen Schwartz, arr. Gavin Somerset
Wheel of Fortune – Zimmer / Badelt / Gire / Sponsler, arr. Stephen Roberts

Music points are shown first – i.e. music,entertainment = total points. (In the event of a tie, the band with the highest music points will be awarded the higher place.

Championship Grade
1st Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band – Conductor S Crooks – 10, 8 = 18 points
2nd Downshire Brass – G Proctor – 9,9 = 18
3rd 1st Old Boys Silver Band – S Cairns – 8,10 = 18
4th Third Carrickfergus Band – B Connolly – 7,6 = 13
5th Lochgelly Silver Band – P McKelvie OBE – 6,7 = 13

Best March: Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band – New Colonial
Solo Prize: Mark Ruddock (Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band)
Most Entertaining Band: 1st old Boys Association Silver Band

Second Section winners Ballyduff Silver Band – conductor W Hill
Third Section winners Wellington Memorial Silver Band – conductor D Hawthorne
Fifth Section winners 1st Larne Old Boys Silver Band – conductor W Clements
Youth Band winners 1st Old Boys Youth Band – conductor J Bingham