Black Dyke win the 162nd British Open Championship – Full Results
September 7 2014

The Black Dyke Band have emerged triumphant with their win at the 162nd British Open Championship with their interpretation of this year’s test piece – Ed de Boer’s “Vita Aeterna Variations” The contest was held at Symphony Hall in Birmingham on Saturday 6th September 2014. Congratulations to Professor Nicholas Childs and all at Black Dyke on their win.

Dyke Celebrations

Full results for the day are as under.


Saturday 6th September
Test Piece: ‘Vita Aeterna Variations’ – Alexander Comitas
Draw: 8.45am
Commence: 10.00am

Adjudicators: John Berryman, Paul Cosh, Stephen Roberts

1. Black Dyke (Prof. Nicholas Childs)
2. Cory (Philip Harper)
3. Flowers (Paul Holland)
4. Fodens (Allan Withington)
5. Desford Colliery (Tom Davoren)
6. Hammonds Saltaire (Morgan Griffiths)
7. Brighouse & Rastrick (Prof. David King)
8. Grimethorpe Colliery (Dr Robert Childs)
9. Fairey (Garry Cutt)
10. Tredegar (Ian Porthouse)
11. Leyland (Michael Bach)
12. Milnrow (Mareika Gray)
13. Virtuosi GUS (Adam Cooke)
14. Hepworth (Mark Peacock)
15. Co-operative Funeralcare (Allan Ramsay),
16. Carlton Main Frickley Colliery (Phillip McCann)
17. Kirkintilloch (David Roberts)

Stanley Wainwright Memorial Trophy: Zoe Hancock (Flugel) Black Dyke
Brian Evans Memorial Trophy: Steve Stewart (Soprano) Cory
The Geoffrey Whitham Memorial Trophy: Gary Curtin (Euphonium) Black Dyke

Relegated Bands

Virtuosi Gus and Hepworth

Data courtesy of