Champions and Band of the Year at BBL contest
April 2008

In what has turned out to be a fantastic day, the band not only won the BBL Annual Spring Festival contest and the prize for the best conductor, but were also crowned Band of the Year for 2008 and presented with the Haughton Cup. This has a special significance for the band in it’s 50th anniversary year. The contest was held in Glengormley High School on Saturday 12th April 2008 and the adjudicator was David Horsfield.

Playing “Variations on Laudate Dominum” by Edward Gregson the band played with control, balance and majesty. The test piece is a superb piece of music which can be enjoyed by player and audience alike, the theme is a noble hymn tune by Sir Hubert H Parry, associated with the words “O worship the King, all-glorious above”. There are five variations, the fifth being a fugato which introduces half of the tune in long notes. The theme is not fully presented until the end, when it is heard in its full majesty and the music brought to a tremendous and climactic conclusion.

Once again, thanks to all band members for their dedication and teamwork in the lead up to the contest. The band will not, however be sitting back and relaxing as it will be in concert with the Abbey Singers on Saturday 19th April in the main hall of the University of Ulster at Jordanstown where a varied and entertaining program is promised. After that the work will start to prepare a varied and entertaining programme of music for the summer concerts which will commence soon. You can listen to the winning performance of this piece in the Media section of this website.

Click here to read the adjudicator’s remarks

The results for the day are as under:

Second Section Brass

1st place: Third Carrickfergus Band – Conductor: D Graham – Variations on Laudate Dominum
with 185 points, Best conductor – D Graham and awarded Band of the Year title
2nd place: Downshire Brass – Conductor: P Hamilton – Shine as the Light
with 183 points, Best soloist – D Corry, cornet

The other bands which took part in this section were, The Templemore Band and The Ballyduff Band.

Championship Section

1st place – 1st Old Boys – Conductor: S Cairns – Dances & Arias
with 190 points, Best conductor – S Cairns and Best percussion
2nd place – Laganvale Metal Technology Band – Conductor: E Ruddock – Epic Symphony
with 189 points and Best soloist – D Neill, cornet

The other competing bands in this section were Strabane Concert Brass and Murley Silver.