Juniors on Winning Form at Annual BBL Spring Festival Contest
April 2 2011

The annual BBL Spring Festival was held for the third time today in the Alley Theatre in Strabane. The band’s performance of Dean Goffin’s “Rhapsody in Brass” was not a winning one today although the band enjoyed the piece and gave a credible performance.

By contrast however, many congratulations go the the Third Carrickfergus Junior Band who won their section at the same contest today under the baton of Peter Arthurs – showing the senior band how it should be done. We are producing some future star players.

Listen to the winning performance by our Junior Band –
The Muppets… play
When She Loved Me… play
Slaidburn… play

Well done to 1st Old Boys, Roughan Silver, Comber Silver Band and Poyntzpass Silver Band on their winning performances and again to 1st Old Boys Band who pipped Downshire Brass to become Band of the Year 2011. The adjudicator for the day was Mr Colin Hardy and the compere was Mr William Caughey (BBL President).

Full results of the day are noted below:

Championship Section (Rothman Trophy)

1st Place: 1st old Boys Silver Band – Conductor: S Cairns (Salute to youth – G Vinter) – 191 points
2nd Place: Strabane Concert Brass – Conductor: P McCann (Trittico – James Curnow) – 190 points
Murley Silver Band – Conductor: W Hill (Festival Music – Eric Ball) – 188 points
Downshire Brass – Conductor: M Alcorn (Connotations – Edward Gregson) – 187 points
Best Soloist (Gault Memorial Cup): Mark Bingham – 1st old Boys Silver Band
Best Percussion: Strabane Concert Brass
Winning Conductor (Harry Brittain Cup): Stephen Cairns – 1st old Boys Silver Band

Second Section Brass (Founders Cup)

1st Place: Roughan Silver Band – Conductor: K Anderson (Partita, Postcards from Home – Philip Wilby) – 188 points
Ballyduff Silver Band – Conductor – W Hill (A Royal Mile Suite – Alan Fernie) – 186 points
Third Carrickfergus Band – Conductor: D Graham (Rhapsody In Brass – Dean Goffin) – 184 points
Best Soloist (Ross Aiken Memorial Trophy): Robert Elliott – Roughan Silver Band
Winning Conductor (Burch Trophy): Keith Anderson – Roughan Silver Band

Third Section Brass (46th Old Boys Cup)

1st Place: Comber Silver Band – Conductor: W Thompson (Prelude Song and Dance – John Golland) – 184 points
2nd Place: Wellington Silver Band – Conductor: J Kitchen (Music from Kantara – Kenneth Downie) – 182 points
CWA Brass – Conductor: F Moore (Laudate Dominum – Edward Gregson) – 181 points
St Mary’s Silver Band – Conductor: T Doherty (Roman Triptych – Leigh Baker) – 180 points
St Mark’s Silver Band – Conductor: C McBride (Tryptch – Philip Sparke) – 179 points

Fourth Section (Take Five Trophy)

1st Place – Poyntzpass Silver Band – Conductor: D Watson (The Young In Heart – Eric Ball) – 176 points

School Bands

1st Place – St Michael’s College Brass Band – Conductor: B Quick (Cowboys – Bob Quick) – 178 points
Omagh Academy Brass Band – Conductor: S O’Hare (3 Postcards for Brass Band – Bob Quick) – 177 points

Junior/Youth Bands

1st Place – Third Carrickfergus Junior Band – Conductor: P Arthurs (Slaidburn, When she loves me, The Muppets) – 178 points
1st Old Boys Youth Band – Conductor: J Bingham (Eventide, Bohemian Rhapsody) – 177 points