Philip Harper and Cory retain Brass In Concert Title
November 17 2013

The Cory Band under the direction of Philip Harper has retained its title in the annual Brass in Concert championship held this weekend at the Sage in Gateshead.

The full contest results are:

1. Cory (Philip Harper): 54/60/36/34 = 184
2. Tredegar (Ian Porthouse): 60/48/34/40 = 182
3. Foden’s (Allan Withington): 51/39/38/38 = 166
4. Grimethorpe Colliery (Dr Robert Childs): 48/57/32/28 = 165
5. Brighouse & Rastrick (Martin Winter): 57/33/40/24 = 154
6. Leyland (Richard Evans): 42/42/22/36 = 142
7. Virtuosi GUS (Adam Cooke): 45/36/28/32 = 141
8. Carlton Main Frickley Colliery (Leigh Baker): 33/51/24/26 = 134
9. Whitburn (Anne Crookston): 36/45/30/22 = 133
10. Flowers (Paul Holland): 39/30/26/30 = 125
11. Fairey (Garry Cutt): 30/54/20/20 = 124

Don Lusher Trombone Award: Chris Thomas (Cory)
Harry Mortimer Best Principal Cornet Award: Kirsty Abbotts (Carlton Main Frickley Colliery)
The Fesa Trophy for Best Flugel Award: Chris Bradley (Whitburn)
The Gateshead MBC Trophy for Best Soprano Award: Kevin Crockford (Grimethorpe Colliery)
The Louis and Colin Johnson Trophy for Best Percussion Section: Tredegar
Best Euphonium: Michael Dodd (Grimethorpe Colliery)
Best Baritone/Horn: Lesley Poole (Fodens)
John Fletcher Best Basses Award: Brighouse & Rastrick
Best Entertainment and Presentation: Tredegar
Best Programme Content: Brighouse & Rastrick
Quality of Performance: Cory
Own Choice March: She Loves You (Leyland)
Best Soloist: Kirsty Abbotts (Carlton Main) Papa Can You Hear Me?
New Composition/Arrangement Award: Philip Harper (Finale Rachmaninov Piano Concerto Number 3)
Winning MD: Philip Harper
Youngest Player: Romana Halstead, Leyland (aged 16)

Results courtesy of 4barsrest