Solos and Quartets 2022 – Results
February 12

For the first time since February 2020, this contest was held live, however, was restricted to competitors only at the venue with the event being streamed on-line where the proceedings could be watched by all in the comfort of their own homes.

We are delighted to have had 5 members taking part today – Claire Hueston, Kelly Kaya, Mark Bingham, Zeki Kaya and Sophie Hueston. Congratulations to Kelly Kaya and Zeki Kaya on their impressive winning performances in the A solos and Under 19 solos respectively.

The full results of the competition were as follows;

Slow Melody

1st – Nigel Hylands, (Bb cornet, 1st Old Boys’ Band)
2nd – Nathan Moore, (Bb cornet, Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band)
3rd – Kevin Teers, (tenor horn, Strabane Brass)

Under 19 Solos

1st – Zeki Kaya, (baritone, Third Carrickfergus Band)

B Solos

1st – Robin Clinton, (tenor horn, CWA Brass)

A Solos

1st – Kelly Kaya, (Bb cornet, Third Carrickfergus Band)
2nd – Jackie Moore, (Bb cornet, CWA Brass)
3rd – Andrew Milligan, (Eb bass, 1st Old Boys’ Band)


1st – Laganvale Duet
2nd – 1st Old Boys’ Quintet
3rd – CWA Sextet
Best Championship Section Band – Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band
Best Section Section Band – CWA Brass
Best Third Section Band – Dynamic Brass


1st – Laganvale Quartet
2nd – CWA Brass Quartet
Best Championship Section Band – Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band
Best Second Section Band – CWA Brass